IATBA Team for Haringey Box Cup 2013

The Irish Amateur Third-level Boxing Association has selected  our team for the 2013 Haringey Box Cup, which will be held  from June 20-23 at London’s famous Alexandra Palace. This is the IATBA’s first Irish students boxing team chosen for an international tournament. 

Deirdre Begley

Name: Deirdre Begley

Institution: University College Cork

Club: U.C.C., Cork

Category: Female C, 60 Kg

Achievements: Boxing – IATBA Senior Champion 2013

Kickboxing – Full contact kickboxing national title 2013, World Junior light contact kickboxing silver and bronze.

Martin Wall

Name: Martin Wall

Institution: Dublin Institute of Technology

Club: Crumlin, Dublin

Category: Senior C, 67 Kg

Achievements: Irish U-21 Champion 2011, Irish Intermediate Finalist 2012

IATBA Senior Champion 2012 and 2011

Ryan Dervan

Name: Ryan Dervan

Institution: National University of Ireland, Galway

Club: Loughrea, Galway

Category: Youth B, 75 Kg

Achievements: Irish Open Youth  Champion 2012 and 2011 (69 Kg),

IATBA Senior Champion 2013

Lily de la Cour

Name: Lily de la Cour

Institution: University College Cork

Club: U.C.C., Cork

Category: Female C, 51 Kg

Achievements: Boxing – IATBA Senior Champion 2013

Kickboxing – Current W.A.K.O Junior  World and European Champion, 12 Irish Kickboxing titles

Lee Boyd

Name: Lee Boyd

Institution: Letterkenny Institute of Technology

Club: Convoy, Donegal

Category: Youth B, 60 Kg

Achievements: IATBA Senior Champion 2013, Donegal and North-West championships, 9-county titles and an Ulster title.

Eamon Tighe

Name: Eamon Tighe

Institution: National University of Ireland, Galway

Club: Ballinacarrow, Sligo

Category: Senior C, 81 Kg

Achievements: Irish Intermediate finalist 2012

Craig McCarthy

Name: Craig McCarthy

Institution: Waterford Institute of Technology

Club: St. Pauls, Waterford

Category: senior C, 71 Kg

Achievements: Irish Youth Champion 2005, Represented Ireland v China, 7 Munster titles

Amanda Coughlan

Name: Amanda Coughlan

Institution: Institute of Technology, Tralee

Club: Paulstown, Kilkenny

Category: Female B, 67 Kg

Achievements: Irish Youth 1 Champion 2008, Irish Junior Champion 2009, IATBA Intermediate Champion 2012

KG Boxing

Name: Keith Gallagher

Institution: Institute of Technology, Sligo

Club: Ardagh/Crossmolina, Mayo

Category: Senior C, 64 Kg

Achievements: 5 Mayo titles, 3 Connacht titles, IATBA Senior Champion 2013

Diego Capocci

Name: Diego Capocci

Institution: Inchicore College of Further Education, Dublin

Club: Neilstown, Dublin

Category: Youth B, 64 Kg

Achievements: 5 Offaly titles, 3 Leinster titles

Coach: Daniel J. Sweeney

Coach: Rohan Date

Team Manager: Paul Geoghegan

More on Haringey Box Cup:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s